If a loose ball touches an official who is out of bounds, is it inbounds or out of bounds?

Prepare for the NFHS Football Rules Test. Enhance your knowledge with detailed multiple choice questions and expert explanations. Secure your success with comprehensive study materials and essential insights!

When a loose ball touches an official who is out of bounds, the correct ruling is that the ball is considered out of bounds. According to NFHS rules, a ball is deemed out of bounds when it touches anything that is out of bounds, which includes officials, unless they are on the field of play. This regulation helps maintain clear boundaries for the game and ensures consistent officiating. In this case, since the official is out of bounds and the ball makes contact with them, the ball is ruled dead and considered out of bounds, stopping any potential play from continuing. This ruling supports the integrity of the game by preventing confusion regarding the status of the ball and the field.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy