What happens if a runner touches the linesman and stays inbounds?

Prepare for the NFHS Football Rules Test. Enhance your knowledge with detailed multiple choice questions and expert explanations. Secure your success with comprehensive study materials and essential insights!

When a runner touches the linesman and remains inbounds, the play continues, and the ball remains live. This situation highlights that players can come into contact with officials without stopping the play, as long as the player does not go out of bounds or commit a penalty. The linesman, as part of the officiating crew, does not affect the status of the play when they are touched by a player who is still inbounds. The primary rule here is that the field of play includes the area where the officials are standing, and they are considered part of the field. Hence, the continual action of the game is preserved, allowing the runner to advance further without interruption.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy