What is the status of a ball that has touched an object out of bounds and rebounded back into the field?

Prepare for the NFHS Football Rules Test. Enhance your knowledge with detailed multiple choice questions and expert explanations. Secure your success with comprehensive study materials and essential insights!

When a ball touches an object out of bounds, such as a player, equipment, or boundary marker, it is considered to be out of play. According to NFHS rules, once a ball has contacted an object out of bounds, it is immediately ruled dead. This means that the play stops at the moment the ball touches the out-of-bounds object, irrespective of whether it subsequently rebounds back into the field. The previous play is concluded, and the game resumes based on the specific circumstances surrounding the ball's last location.

In contrast, a live ball is one that is in play, and a turnover relates to the change of possession; neither of these conditions apply after the ball has contacted an out-of-bounds object. Thus, the ball is effectively dead once it makes such contact, solidifying the choice that addresses its status accurately.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy