Which of the following is true about the ball during a scrimmage kick?

Prepare for the NFHS Football Rules Test. Enhance your knowledge with detailed multiple choice questions and expert explanations. Secure your success with comprehensive study materials and essential insights!

When considering scrimmage kicks in football, it's important to understand the dynamics of the neutral zone and the rules governing ball movement during these plays. The correct notion is that the ball may cross the expanded neutral zone. This aligns with the rules that allow the ball to enter this area without any restrictions hindering its progress until it is touched or becomes dead.

The option indicating that the ball "must not be touched before crossing the line of scrimmage" is inaccurate because a scrimmage kick can be touched while it is in the neutral zone, provided it subsequently crosses the line of scrimmage. Touching it before this point does not automatically result in a penalty as long as the play follows the established rules.

The statement about the kicker being touched by players on the same team is misleading. Common practice prohibits a player from initiating contact with a kicker after they have made the kick, in the interest of player safety and maintaining fairness in play.

Lastly, the assertion that the snap can occur at any location is incorrect because there are specific rules concerning where the ball can be snapped, typically requiring it to be from a designated point along the line of scrimmage.

In summary, the statement about the ball crossing the expanded neutral

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy